MilitaryReligiousFreedom.org

Fighting for our servicemembers' rights, so they can fight for ours.

 

Please consider making a fully tax-deductible donation today.

 

              


Monday, April 17, 2017


MRFF FILES OFFICIAL DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE INSPECTOR GENERAL (DoD/IG) COMPLAINT AGAINST
USAF CHAPLAIN (CAPT.)
SONNY L. HERNANDEZ

USAF Chaplain (Capt.) Sonny L. Hernandez's blog post on "Christian Fighter Pilot", in which he defends Lt. Col. Jonathan Dowty's accusation against Brig. Gen. (Select) Kristin E. Goodwin of being a liar, can reasonably be considered as violating Numerous Punitive Articles defined in The Uniform Code
of Military Justice (UCMJ)

Official Complaint letter Demanding an Investigation sent by MRFF's Attorney to the Deputy Inspector General for Administrative Investigations

Sent Monday, April 17, 2017

Click to read entire
"Complaint Letter Demanding
an Investigation"


MRFF's SENIOR RESEARCH DIRECTOR CHRIS RODDA ON HUFFINGTON POST & DAILY KOS

Will The Air Force Do Anything To Rein In Its Dynamic Duo of Gay-Bashing, Misogynistic Bloggers?

Monday, April 17, 2017

"I always get nervous when I see female pastors/chaplains. Here is why everyone should as well:
"First, women are not called to be pastors, and since a chaplain is supposed to be a pastor in uniform—it exposes their rebellion.
"Second, the office is permitted for men only, and women are prohibited from teaching (1 Timothy 2:12).
"Third, people should be very worried when they see women pastors/chaplains teaching. Why? It could be God's judgment upon them (Isaiah 3, "...and women rule over them")!"

The above are the words of Captain Sonny Hernandez, an Air Force Reserve chaplain for the 445th Airlift Wing at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Ohio, posted as a comment on a blog post by Air Force Lt. Col. Jonathan Dowty on his "Christian Fighter Pilot" blog — a blog on which Lt. Col. Dowty has provided his readers with a steady stream of misogynistic, gay-bashing, Islamophobic, and other very "Christian" posts for over a decade.

In the post that Chaplain Hernandez was commenting on, titled "Kansas Army National Guard Commissions Female Chaplain," Lt. Col. Dowty had expressed his opinion that female chaplains are not acceptable, writing: "... there are some who advocate that chaplains should be able to meet the needs of all of their troops, and a 'minority' chaplain actually undermines that cause. While every Christian denomination represented in the military accepts a male pastoral leader, a substantial percentage do not accept female pastoral leaders." [...]

Click to read more


MIKEY WEINSTEIN's OP-EDS ON DAILY KOS & ALTERNET RE: USAF CHAPLAIN (CAPT.)
SONNY HERNANDEZ & HIS HOMOPHOBIC PAST

6/26/15: MRFF Demands Ouster of All Homophobic Military Chaplains

 

4/17/15: Air Force Base Names Homophobic, Anti-Semitic Chaplain as 'Officer of the Year'


BACKGROUND ON
"CHRISTIAN FIGHTER PILOT"
LT. COL. JONATHAN C. DOWTY

4/3/17: MRFF Files Official Department of Defense Inspector General (DoD/IG) Complaint Against "Christian Fighter Pilot"

 

3/28/17: "Christian Fighter Pilot"
Accusing Brig. Gen. (Select)
Kristin E. Goodwin of Being a Liar

 

5/15/14: Air Force Officer Propagates Anti-Gay Hatred Online - An Open Letter to Lt. Col. Dowty from Lt. Col. (USAF) Ret.
Edith A. Disler, PhD.


Inbox logo

(To see more of MRFF's Inbox click the image above)

"Easter Basket Solicitation Violation; Thank You MRFF"

From: USAF Member’s E-Mail Address Withheld
Subject: Easter Basket Solicitation Violation; Thank You MRFF
Date: April 17, 2017 at 12:17:47 PM MDT
To: Mikey Weinstein
Cc: Chris Rodda

Mikey,

I would like to thank you and your team for your assistance this past week.

I am a (USAF position withheld) at (USAF base name withheld) AFB, working under the (USAF assigned unit name withheld) At a recent Commander's Call, our Commander stated that several individuals had noted feeling alienated and marginalized by others in the unit due to differences in religious, political, and personal opinions. The Commander made it clear that he expected everyone's beliefs to be tolerated and that he did not condone such an environment of hostility.

Then, last week, an email was sent out to our entire unit by a member of the Commander's staff inviting us all to a location in the (USAF assigned unit name withheld) to make Easter baskets for local children. This was billed as a "volunteer opportunity." I thought this email looked fishy, and immediately knew to reach out to an entity who could help--the MRFF.

Within minutes of emailing the MRFF my concerns, Mikey Weinstein called me and told me I was absolutely correct to be suspicious. Sending an email from the Commander's office asking all of those under his Command to participate in an activity that clearly favors one religious belief--in this case, Christianity--is in direct violation of constitutional church-state separation mandates and AFI 1-1, Section 2.12: "Balance of Free Exercise of Religion and Establishment Clause." This critical USAF regulatory Instruction states, "Leaders at all levels must balance constitutional protections for their own free exercise of religion, including individual expressions of religious beliefs, and the constitutional prohibition against governmental establishment of religion. They must ensure their words and actions cannot reasonably be construed to be officially endorsing or disapproving of, or extending preferential treatment for any faith, belief, or absence of belief." [...]

Click to read more

"jews have that certain smell"

From: (name withheld)
Subject: jews have that certain smell
Date: April 14, 2017 at 10:55:38 PM MDT
To: Mikey Weinstein

you know, Mikie. That jew smell of murdering the innocent Lamb. The Son of God.
The same Son of God who's resurrection we will celebrate on Sunday.

Try as you might to keep Jesus out of our military you will just even more nail yourself to the cross of satan.
And you will burn in hell forever.

Every day will be a Dachau day for you. Every night will be a Kristallnacht.
For all eternity.

Hell smells like Mikie. Hell smells like jews.

(name withheld)

Response from MRFF Advisory Board Member John Compere

As a loyal & patriotic American disabled veteran of 75 years who was born, raised & educated as a Christian, I can neither comprehend nor condone your unChristian hate filled communication. Christianity taught me that God created all human beings equal in God’s image & it was very good (Genesis 1:27&31) & the 2nd greatest Commandant is to love your neighbor (Matthew 22:39 ). I also learned from Christianity that it is just a branch off of the ancient tree of Judaism, Jesus & his disciples were Jewish, biblical authors were Jewish & there would be no Christianity if it had not been for the Jewish faith, culture & people.
It has been my observation over these years that loving believers use religion to promote their love whereas hating believers use religion to promote their hate. Your sick hate is a sad commentary on your morality & humanity. It reflects on you & you alone.


John Compere
Brigadier General, US Army (Retired)
MRFF Advisory Board Member

Click to read more


Connect with MRFF:
Mikey Weinstein Facebook Page Mikey Weinstein Twitter Mikey Weinstein Youtube Channel

SUPPORT MRFF!

Your Generous Support Allows us to Continue
our Fight in the Courts and in the Media

The media outlets referenced in the links above (if applicable) don't have any affiliation with the
Military Religious Freedom Foundation, nor have expressed endorsement thereof.

While we make every effort to ensure that news articles pertaining to our Foundation remain available for you to access,
we are unable to guarantee that the link above will remain online and unchanged indefinitely.